FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners List And History Of All Time

FIFA Ballon d'Or Winners List And History Of All Time

The Ballon d’Or, the word derived from French, which means Golden Ball. It is the honour presented to the best male footballer in the year of that particular year. At first, Gabriel Hanot, a sports writer, proposed the idea initially. Since 1956 up to 2006, only the sports journalists used to vote the players according to their whole year’s performances. But since 2007, the national teams’ captains and coaches are also taking part in this voting. In the beginning, it was an award only for the European footballers. But in 1995, the authority expanded it for the active players in European leagues. Since 2007 all the footballers around the globe become eligible for this highly prestigious award. Here we are presenting the FIFA Ballon d’Or winners list and history of all time.

French football used to award it distinctly. But in between 2010 to 2015 the “FIFA World Player of the Year” temporarily merged with it. During that period, the award renamed as the FIFA Ballon d’Or. Nevertheless, the partnership was broken in 2016 and once again the award reverted to the Ballon d’Or.

FIFA Ballon d'Or Winners List And History Of All Time

Argentine sensation Lionel Messi and Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo are the most successful players in this prize’s history. They won the award 5 times each. They absolutely dominated the prize for an era. No one but one between these two won the award for 10 consecutive years. Their domination began in 2008 when CR7 won his first-ever Ballon d’Or while playing for the English Premier League club Man Utd. Their ascendancy continued till 2018 when Croat midfielder Luka Modric won it for his superb contribution to both Real Madrid and Croatia National Team.

FIFA Ballon d'Or Winners List And History Of All Time

Leo remains the first as well as the only player to win this award on 4 consecutive occasions. He won it 4 times on the trot between 2009 to 2012. He last won this award back in 2015. Meanwhile, Cristiano chased him down from 4-1 trailing to level the record 5-5 when the Portugal skipper won his 5th and so far the last prize in 2017. Former France international as well as former UEFA President Michel Platini also won it thrice in 1983, 1984 and 1985. Dutch legend Johann Cruyff along with his compatriot Van Basten also won the award 3 times each. Stanley Matthews was the very first man the history to grab this highly prestigious award.


# FIFA Ballon d’Or Winners List:

Year Winner’s Name Club
1956 Stanley Matthew Blackpool
1957 Alfredo Di Stephano Real Madrid
1958 Raymond Kopa Real Madrid
1959 Alfredo Di Stephano Real Madrid
1960 Luis Suarez FC Barcelona
1961 Omar Sivori Juventus
1962 Josef Masopust Dukla Prague
1963 Lev Yashin Dynamo Moscow
1964 Denis Law Man Utd
1965 Eusebio Benfica
1966 Bobby Charlton Man Utd
1967 Florian Albert Ferencvaros
1968 George Best Man Utd
1969 Gianni Rivera AC Milan
1970 Gerd Muller Bayern Munich
1971 Johann Cruyff Ajax
1972 Franz Beckenbauer Bayern Munich
1973 Johan Cruyff Ajax
1974 Johan Cruff FC Barcelona
1975 Oleg Blokhin Dynamo Kyiv
1976 Franz Beckenbauer Bayern Munich
1977 Alan Simonsen Bor. Monchengladbach
1978 Kevin Keegan Hamburg
1979 Kevin Keegan  Hamburg
1980 Karl-Heinz Rumennige Bayern Munich
1981 Karl-Heinz Rumennige Bayern Munich
1982 Paolo Rossi Juventus
1983 Michel Platini Juventus
1984 Michel Platini Juventus
1985 Michel Platini Juventus
1986 Igor Belanov Dynamo Kyiv
1987 Ruud Gullit AC Milan
1988 Marco Van Basten AC Milan
1989 Marco Van Basten AC Milan
1990 Lothar Matthaus Inter Milan
1991 Jean-Pierre Papin Marseille
1992 Marco Van Basten AC Milan
1993 Roberto Baggio  Juventus
1994 Hristo Stoichkov FC Barcelona
1995 George Weah AC Milan
1996 Matthias Sammer Borussia Dortmund
1997 Ronaldo Inter Milan
1998 Zinedine Zidane Juventus
1999 Rivaldo FC Barcelona
2000 Luis Figo Real Madrid
2001 Michael Owen Liverpool
2002 Ronaldo Real Madrid
2003 Pavel Nedved Juventus
2004 Andriy Shevchenko AC Milan
2005 Ronaldinho FC Barcelona
2006 Fabio Cannavaro Real Madrid
2007 Kaka AC Milan
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Man Utd
2009 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona
2010 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona
2011 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona
2012 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2015 Lionel Messi FC Barcelona
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Real Madrid
2018 Luka Modric Real Madrid
2019 Yet to be announced Yet to be announced



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.